Little Things, Big Smiles

Yesterday I decided/was persuaded to host a Young Authors Celebration with some of the students who entered the contest in grades 1-4 at my school. Well, all I can say is that it was a success!

They arrived one by one and took a seat in the circle. They were excited not to be in class, but also to be the ones getting the attention today. As they walked in, I handed them their manuscript and a certificate for participating in the Young Authors Contest! They seemed a bit nervous at first because I could tell they wanted to know who won! I started the show by saying that the winner wasn’t picked yet, but we would let them know soon! Following that conversation we discussed how proud I was of each and every one of them. I told them they were all authors/writers in my eyes. More smiles filled the room. I gave them an ice cream sandwich in which they enjoyed. We took photos and continued chatting! Then, we picked a few students to read their manuscripts aloud. I think every hand went up to share! Due to time, we decided to break up into groups and continue reading so that everyone could share their stories! The smiles and laughter continued! It was so worth it! I am positive that each and every one of them went home with a smile and were ready to share their writing experience with their families!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Little Things, Big Smiles

  1. Thanks for sharing, how wonderful to see such enthusiasm to write and then want to share what they have written! So many budding authors!

  2. My five were bursting all day to get to that celebration! They came back bouncing, at first I suspected due to the ice cream sandwich- but this description tells me so much more I didn’t get a chance to hear from them. Thank you for celebrating all our writers!

  3. Yay!! Every time we can celebrate achievements with kids it’s a big win! How wonderful that they were eager to share their writing with each other and that each had a chance to be heard. Awesome!

Leave a comment