The Magic Hat

Being a mother, a wife, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a teacher, and a friend can sometimes be a very difficult job.  Did I say sometimes?  I meant to say all the time.  I am constantly asking myself this question.  How can I make time for everyone?

In my head I hear voices.  In my head I hear questions.  In my head I see visions.

What’ for dinner?

Where did you put my socks?

Can you take me to the bank?

Can you come help me?

Are you coming to my game?

Can you pick me up from school late?

Can you read this book to my class?

Can you just listen to me?

What did you think about……?

Can I go by my friend’s house?

Some days I feel like I am wearing the Magic Hat!  I don’t always know how I did it, but I make through each day with a smile!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The Magic Hat

  1. All the hats we wear can be so tiring… and joyful… and difficult… and the best job in the world… and so hard…
    All in all, I totally get it. I am mom, wife, teacher… some days are harder than others.
    Glad you make through each day with a smile! That’s what I try for too…. And don’t forget yourself in the mix!

  2. Oh, the magic hat! I fear the days when my kiddo gets bigger and the questions get bigger and more time consuming. Remind me how fun they are when they are big. 🙂

  3. That’s the fun of being a mamma!

  4. I don’t know either. There is never really a balance, but somehow we manage to do everything. Somehow.

  5. Ah…the Magic Hat….and the talents of being able to juggle all of the responsibilities for our loved ones.

  6. I am so glad that you wrote about this. I struggle with this every day and I don’t think I’m very successful. It’s something that doesn’t get discussed very often!

  7. You have big requirements and responsibilities, but I know the magic hat will get you through! Good for you!

  8. I love this! It’s a great way to describe all that we manage to accomplish on daily basis. Magic hat…I’m going to use that some time!

  9. I didn’t realize that the hat was magical! 😉 Keep trucking sister!

  10. great job! there are many people in many graduate program who are parents and it inspires me that they can wear the student hat, parent hat, wife/husband hat, and teacher hat all at the same time!

  11. What a great slice! You balance at home and at work well. Keep wearing that Magic Hat.

Leave a comment