My Dad and I

      I have been married almost 13 years. I feel like I’m one lucky woman to have a terrific loving husband and two beautiful children.  As my anniversary approaches in April, I begin to think back to my wedding day.  The absolute most beautiful day of my life.  I was the star of the show and for those that know me it was perfect! 

     About two years ago I lost my dad to ALS. It was horrible to see such a strong man crumble into pieces.  One thing he loved to do was dance.  So I will always remember dancing with my dad at our wedding.  We danced to an Italian father /daughter song.  He was glowing, as we galloped away on the dance floor.  Today on my way home, I heard another father/daughter song I really love.  It made me think if I could just dance with him one more time.  I copied the lyrics below because they are beautiful!  As you read the words, think of my dad and I dancing away!

“I Loved Her First”  By:HeartLand 

Look at the two of you dancing that way Lost in the moment and each others face So much in love your alone in this place Like there’s nobody else in the world I was enough for her not long ago I was her number one She told me so And she still means the world to me Just so you know So be careful when you hold my girl Time changes everything Life must go on And I’m not gonna stand in your way
But I loved her first and I held her first And a place in my heart will always be hers From the first breath she breathed When she first smiled at me I knew the love of a father runs deep And I prayed that she’d find you someday But it still hard to give her away I loved her first
How could that beautiful women with you Be the same freckle face kid that I knew The one that I read all those fairy tales to And tucked into bed all those nights And I knew the first time I saw you with her It was only a matter of time
But I loved her first and I held her first And a place in my heart will always be hers From the first breath she breathed When she first smiled at me I knew the love of a father runs deep And I prayed that she’d find you someday But its still hard to give her away I loved her first
From the first breath she breathed When she first smiled at me I knew the love of a father runs deep Someday you might know what I’m going through When a miracle smiles up at you I loved her first

8 Comments

March 13, 2014 · 11:58 am

8 responses to “My Dad and I

  1. I love this! Set the scene and then let the reader play it out as they read.

  2. This is a beautiful memory. I love the repeating line in the song, “I loved her first.” It makes me really feel the father’s happiness and sadness about the moment he is giving his daughter away.

  3. Writing like this can help solidify the memories you have of your dad as a healthy, vibrant man who loved his family and loved to dance. He is probably galloping around in heaven right now with his family members who preceded him. And, I’m sure he’ll save a special dance for you when he sees you. xoxo

  4. I love how the lyrics of a song can whisk us away to another time and place, memories filled with such love. This is beautiful!

  5. Such a lovely memory. Thank you for sharing the song.

  6. What a beautiful memory to capture in a slice. He dances with you every day, you just don’t realize it. 🙂

Leave a comment