Belonging to Someone

 

     Today, as I looked around the classroom I noticed many “Beautiful” children all in their seats ready to learn.  When I say beautiful I do mean it.  I started to think why my mind was making me think about the beauty of each child.  My motherly instincts kicked in and I placed each face with a gem that each carried.  Each of these children belong to someone.  I thought about my two children sitting in someone else’s classroom.  Was their teacher thinking about their gems? 

     So I sat and looked around thinking what gem belongs to each of them.  Some were harder to identify than others.  I kept thinking that each of those children belonged to someone!  That someone has left them in my hands.  It is my job to think before I speak and remember that each child belongs to Someone!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Belonging to Someone

  1. Ha, you’re right – we wrote about the exact same thing today! So funny. I loved the comment someone left on my post. She said that I realized they are all somebody’s someone. I love that.

  2. I hope that my kids’ teachers remember that they are my someone and look for the gem inside each one.

  3. And they are so lucky to have you working hard to unearth and polish those gems!

  4. As a gramma, I always hope all my grandchildren have teachers who respect and love them for who they are! I like the idea of being somebody’s someone!

  5. bbutler627

    Remembering that is so important! Our students are just kids and they are the center of some people’s universe. They are all beautiful 🙂

  6. Somebody’s someone. I love this phrase. I love too that you were looking for those gems- sometimes unpolished but always there.

  7. Yes! Looking for the gems can make for a deep dig, but so worth it!

  8. Thanks for taking the time to find the good in ALL kids. I like to say that there are no bad kids, just kids making bad decisions.

  9. This is beautiful. Each and every single one of them is a gem!

  10. Can I use this in my noticings this week for the bulletin. So beautiful! Every child should be seen this way!

  11. A beautiful reminder, Amelia! Being entrusted with someone’s most precious gems is not to be taken lightly.

Leave a comment