Car Buying and Mom!

     Yesterday, hit another first for my mom.  My dad pretty much was the head of the household.  He worked, payed the bills, made most of the major decisions, and bought the new cars.  Well, after 72 years we were forced to take my mom into a car dealership.  My mom was in a  car accident a couple weeks ago.  Thank God she came out fine.  Her car, which was another memory of my dad, was totaled.  She had hoped to keep it the rest of her driving life.  Of course, that did not happen!

     I have purchased many cars, so dealerships and spending money were not new to me.  I actually enjoy it.  Sometimes I think I could be a salesman with no problem.  I love people and chatting!  It was a bit of an overwhelming experience for my mom.  She thought it would easy and painless.  She thought cars were free.   She always drove luxury and she just thought every car was like that, but came to find out not everything is included.  It was so funny watching her as she asked for the color, the luxuries, price, etc.  Well, I felt like we spent the night there, but in the end my Mom purchased her own car for the first time in 72 years.  Wow, what an accomplishment!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Car Buying and Mom!

  1. So glad you had the chance to help her. I know she appreciated it!

  2. I am sure it was painful for your mother to not have your dad’s car anymore…but just imagine the feeling of buying your first car! That had to have been wonderful…and so lucky that you were there to guide her through car buying. What an uplifting story. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. Awww… go Momma! I remember my mom buying her first car, my dad always did that stuff. I could picture you enjoying that kind of stuff. 🙂 You can wheel and deal for me the next time I need a new car.

  4. I bet mom had so much emotion going there without your dad. I am glad you were able to be there for her acting like dad!

  5. mrssurridge

    Another story to prove the fact that you never stop learning, no matter how old you are. I hope she loves her new car.

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your mom’s accident, esp because of all the memories it held, but what a great accomplishment and step forward for her. That’s great!

  7. What a huge accomplishment! Lucky for her you were there to guide her on her way.

    So glad she was okay after the accident!

Leave a Reply

