A letter to my Dad!

Dear Dad,

     I must begin by telling you how much I miss you.  Life without you has been extremely difficult since you passed away on Aug. 3,

2012.  I guess I was not ready for you to leave us.  Some days I feel like I was cheated.  I needed you and 39 years with you was just

not enough! I had so much more to tell you and I wanted so much for you to see your grandkids get older.  You brought happiness to all

our lives in so many ways.  You left me with so many beautiful memories and so many important things to remember about what you

taught us!  It wasn’t fair you had to suffer from such a horrific disease like ALS.  We watched you go from such a strong, independent

man to a man who lost all his strength.  It was horrible for us to all watch.  But, what I do know is that your suffering is over.  I have

never ever met a man like you.  You gave so much to everyone.  A day doesn’t pass that someone doesn’t remind me about what a

great man my father was!  I knew it already, but I love hearing from others.  You are my strength as I work hard on being a great MOM.

I think about all you taught me and try to do many things the same.  Well, I could go on for days, but I wrote enough for today.  As you read this letter in heaven, please remember what you left behind!

 

Love You Daddy,
Amelia

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A letter to my Dad!

  1. I so share your sentiment. My dad died when he was 60 and I was 28- 5 days before my wedding. just so wrong and not fair. I recently posted a poem about him, I like the idea of writing letters to people who won’t actually read them. Very cathartic.

  2. Amelia this is so nice. It’s so important to keep talking to the ones that leave before us. Maddie just told me the other day she misses her papa, whom she never even met. Their reach goes far. I find comfort in that sometimes. Hugs to you!

  3. What a beautiful tribute to your dad. My respect for you as you heal and try to find strength in the beautiful things he left behind.

  4. This is a beautiful letter to your dad. I am sure that he is reading it in heaven and wishing that he had more time with you and your children too.

  5. Dar

    Oh Amelia, I know how much you miss him, and know how therapeutic writing can be….keep writing those letters my friend…..XOXO

  6. I am so sorry for your loss. I can’t even begin to imagine how you feel. Writing really helps. It’s so therapeutic. Your dad sounds incredible.

  7. A very touching letter to your dad, Amelia. I know what it’s like to lose a parent. Writing is a good way to keep those memories alive and to make sense of it all.

Leave a Reply

