My Number One Fan!

 I remember riding my first bike and telling him “You can let go”…”I think I can do this”

 I remember graduating from high school and telling him “I think I can do this”

 I remember receiving my college diploma and telling him “I think I can do this”

 I remember finding the other love of my life and telling him “I think I can do this”

 I remember walking down the aisle and saying “I think I can do this”

 I remember having my first child and telling him “I think I can do this”

 I remember losing him and telling God “I don’t think I can do this”

 Gone without a good-bye……If I could have him back……

Good Bye Daddy!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “My Number One Fan!

  1. jmjd

    This is so powerful. I remember feeling the same way with my father. I guess we’ll always be “Daddy’s little girl.” Thanks for sharing.

  2. OMG…your post brings me to tears. I think you just did this for him….

  3. Oh, Amelia. This is beautiful. This structure is so perfect for your idea and that ending is…. perfect, but heartbreaking. You can do this. He’s watching you and giving you strength. He is.
    Love you!

  4. Beautiful piece. It shows an amazing relationship between you and your Dad. Very powerful.

  5. Amelia- this comes from the heart and a place I so understand. I love how you structured it and I know that feeling at the end. It hit my gut as I read it. Day by day we get thorough.

  6. Amelia, this piece truly speaks to my heart! We used those exact words to describe my dad. He was the biggest cheer leader ever. I’ll bet he and your dad could’ve been on the same team!

  7. Dar

    Beautiful…..my heart can feel your love…..and your pain!

  8. I love this piece. Your dad is smiling down on you, remembering all those times right along with you. It isn’t easy to go on without those special loved ones, but you are honoring his memory in such a beautiful way.

  9. I’m always glad when you write about your dad. It’s necessary. It’s important. It’s heartfelt. Welcome back to slicing!!!

Leave a Reply

